Tags

, , , ,

The original. It’s been out for years now but every time I hear news of a new AC game I can’t stop myself thinking about it. This all happened again when news of Assassins Creed: Revelations first surfaced. I find myself getting somewhat annoyed every time I hear of a new assassins game coming out and I think I’ve finally figured out why. I just can’t get over the first game; you might think that’s because it was good, it got great reviews and has a Metacritic score of 81. No, most definitely the opposite. For me, the first game was so disappointing that regardless of how good any new game afterwards looked, I just didn’t want to buy it out of spite.

I can remember back in 2007, sitting round a mates house watching some trailers for the original Assassins Creed (this one http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cc-ClutaN_I) with my jaw on the floor, even now it still looks epic! It was CGI but I can remember thinking and commenting on how insane the graphics looked, then the moment when everything goes slow-mo, the character leaps into the air and the blade pings out; has to be one of the coolest moments in gaming. I can remember at that point turning to my friends and saying “HO-L-Y SHIT!!”. It had the potential to be the best game ever; you’re an assassin for one, the killing looked fun as hell and the setting was great. I can’t remember anything like it around at the time, it was unique and seemed like the perfect game, I hadn’t been so excited for a game in a long time.

Playing the game was great, I could run around, climb nearly everything and I had a fucking blade up my sleeve, I was the biggest bad-ass around. I completed several missions and all was good, I was pickpocketing, eavesdropping and roughing people up. After killing a few of my targets things went a bit down hill, I then realised that I’d have to repeat the same three type of side mission over and over in order to acquire the intelligence needed. They were fun the first time but I just wanted to kill people, having to repeat the same boring side missions was killing the game. It got SO repetitive that I never finished it. How? the game I was looking forward to so much and I couldn’t even finish it, what had they done. Running around and hiding in ‘inconspicuous’ huts atop of buildings passed some time but not enough. The rest of the gameplay mechanic was awesome, climbing worked perfectly and killing was just as I’d expected, the story structure just let it down. However all this was overshadowed by one other factor, one of the most annoying and frustrating features of a game I’ve ever experienced…

The Animus! I can remember the first time it sucked me out of my cool and awesome assassins world, I was not amused. For some, it might have been a great twist to the tale but not for me. I was now in the most boring game environment ever with nothing to do, walking around this white-walled Sci-Fi mental clinic waiting for something to happen. From that moment on Assassins Creed was broken forever. I didn’t want to feel like a puppet being dangled into this world, waiting for the master to pull the strings and fling me out. I’m an assassin not a bland science experiment!

So this crazy story arc along with the repetitive missions turned this potentially awesome game into a huge disappointment. It’s not a bad game (despite this rant) far from it, it just didn’t live up to the great expectations I had. I mean come on, gaming – violence – killing – assassins – stealth, everyone loves killing enemies in games so for you to be an assassin was a match made in heaven. Maybe the hyped killed it, maybe my own hype killed it or maybe it just wasn’t good enough. The story does seem interesting (reading back over it) but just the fact it wasn’t what I’d hoped kinda makes it irrelevant to me. I tried Assassins Creed 2 but again I played it a few time, put it down and never really picked it up again. For me, there is just one piece of the jigsaw missing which is stopping the game being a classic. Many will say I’m missing out on a great game, or series and I am, I just can’t bring myself to play it for what I know it could have been.

What were your thought on the original game and where the series has gone? please comment below whether you agree with me or not. Cheers for reading

